Week 4 Post: Textbook Benefits for the Math Geeks

teacher_with_books_laptop

Previous research on textbooks and teachers’ use of textbooks shows, among other things that:

Math problems  and topics are being taught in school and by professors through textbooks. Textbooks provide written direction and step by step shows the student how to solve the problem.
“Mathematical topics not included in textbooks are most likely not presented by the teachers  (Freeman & Porter, 1989; Reys et al., 2003);”

According to the article Teachers and Professors use textbooks as a primary source of information. If you want to find more about why and how professors prefer textbooks for class discussion read this article.

Author: shivaainloo

My name is Shiva Ainloo, I am currently a student studying communication at the Universities of shady Grove (UMCP). I also work part time in the hospitality industry and have done so since I was 14 years old. I plan on continuing a degree in the hospitality industry after I graduate and work towards it during my time as a student. After I graduate I plan on traveling as much as I possibly can, and see as much as I can possibly see, and eventually find a career that allows me to travel.

Leave a comment